This year the contestants will have to design a new pocket lucky charm, useful for confronting with positivity, courageous altruism, and the necessary irony the challenges of a difficult and widespread crisis with which our planet and society are faced.
The “Pocketluck” theme has been carried out with great diversity and originality by the 329 designs arrived from the 23 countries to which the competition was open.

The international jury: Cristina Morozzi (president), Daniele Capra, Barbara Fabro, Pawel Grobelny, Susanna Legrenzi, Luca Nichetto, Gjon Radovani e Janka Vukmir. Although each have different declinations and prospectives, curiously, all three of the awards assigned to the “lucky charms” share a common theme which is to carry it as a daily reminder to behave responsibly and ethically.

The BEBA prize for the youngest designer went to Ilya Choni, a very young contestant born in the Ukraine in 1998. “The All” is a good luck charm made of pebbles wrapped in cotton, string and jute which reminds each of us that we are responsible for our own destiny.

The CEI prize, instituted in 2006 for the best designer from a CEI country not a member of the European Community, assigned to Macedonia in 2006 and to Serbia in 2008, was in 2010 awarded to Belarus. The industrial designer Aliaksei Hur designed “REDbook
pendants”, a series of key chains which daily remind its owner of his personal responsibility in the environmental degradation and provide information on the animals in danger of extinction.

The first prize, named after Gillo Dorfles, went to Marta Kisand for the “PaperDoll Brooches” project. The Estonian textile designer suggests keeping in your pocket the imagine of a doll printed on staffed fabric decorated with flowers typical of the textile tradition of her country each with precise meanings of love, friendship or trust.

Along with the winners, the following designers’ works were selected for the final exhibition: Tjasa Bavcon (Slovenia), Matteo Beraldi (Italy), Boris Novachi Bojic (Austria), Giovanni Botticelli (Italy), Ivana Brajdic (Croatia), group Carrot (Hungary), Ender Gelgec (Turkey), group Knockoutdesign (Poland), Ziva Ljubec (Slovenia), Malgorzata Lojko (Poland), Emanuele Magini (Italy), Francesco Magni (Italy), Tommaso Mandorino (Italy), Franz Maurer (Austria), group Oloop Design (Slovenia), Przemyslav Ostaszewski (Poland), Nadine Podewski (Germany), Laura Pozzar (Italy), Louda Radim (Czech Republic), Dario Santacroce (Italy), Pavel Sidorenko (Estonia), Dorota Skalska and Agnieszka Mazur (Poland), Radim Slovak (Czech Republic), Claudia Sportelli (Italy), Devid Strussiat (Italy), Zoran Svraka (Croatia), Lenka Trubacova (Czech Republic), Adam Turecek (Czech Republic), Nadia Vedova and Marco Svara (Italy). Selected amongst those out of the competition, Gianfranco Vasselli’s (Italy) work will also appear at the exhibition.

Read the catalogue.

The jury at work.