16 june 2008

the winners of graalglass

Stefano Suarez, Vladimir Stankovic and Aysenaz Toker

On the 12th and 13th June, in the CEIĀ  Central European Initiative Executive Secretariat seat, after the greetings of the Ambassador Pietro Ercole Ago, the international jury of GRAALGLASS International Design Contest Trieste Contemporanea, composed by Gillo Dorfles (President of Jury), Aldo Colonnetti (IED Director), Barbara Fabro (CEI), Lia Ferrari (Io Donna-Corriere della Sera), Renzo Ferro (Anfora Furnace), Branko Franceschi (HDLU), Silvio Fuso (Director of the Pesaro Museum of Venice and of the Glass Museum of Murano) and Puccio Migliaccio (Glass Historian), selected the winners of the Eighth edition choosing the best original projects for a drinking vessel, that will be realized in glass, inspired by the symbols and tradition of the Holy Grail.
The competition, promoted by the Trieste Contemporanea Committee, was open to all the designers coming from the 18 countries of the Central European Initiative, Baltic States, Germany and Turkey and its aim was promoting the most original design expressions of Central European Countries.

The first prize Gillo Dorfles (4000 Euros) was given for its innovation to the project of the Roman Architect Stefano Suarez: the shape of a rigorous and geometric goblet is hollowed out in a block of class and is colored by the light filtering from the outside. It is a tough challenge for a glass master.
The prize CEI (3000 Euros), for the best designer coming from one of the CEI countries outside of the European Union, was given to the Serbian artist Vladimir Stankovic, who proposed a cone with a spiral inserted in a cubic base.
The prize BEBA (1000 Euros), for the youngest selected artist, was given to the young Turkish artist Aysenaz Toker (born in 1984) who designed an original teacup/goblet.
The other selected projects were designed by Enrico Venturini (Italy), who received a special mention by the jury, Carlo Allegri (Italy), Rok Bogataj (Slovenia), Dagmar De Paolis (Italy), Davide Di Donato (Italy), Ana Paula Ferrua (Italy), Frank Gaerntner (Germany), Anette Kithier (Germany), the group Peter Lehocky and Michan Poracky (Slovakian Republic), Emanuela Marassi (Italy), the group Velentina Milani, Elisa Biondi and Simone Pellicono (Italy), Laura Pellicciari (Italy), Alessandro Rech (Italy), the group Jens Rohdenburg, Sven Fischer and Feliz Herten (Germany) and group Diego Zanella and Graziella Giacobbe (Italy).

The selected objects will be realized at the Anfora Furnace of Murano and will be displayed at the final exhibition that will be opened on the 10th of September in the prestigious seat of the Rezzonico Museum of Venice and in December will be moved to the Stazione Rogers in Trieste, that will be renovated soon. The initiative contributes to the cultural exchanges between Trieste and Venice and it is an important occasion of confrontation between the local glass blowing techniques and the creativity of international artists.
This initiative is promoted by Trieste Contemporanea with the contribution of Regione Autonoma Friuli Venezia Giulia, Province of Trieste, CEI (Central European Initiative) and BEBA Foundation and the support of: Ministry of Foreign Affairs, CEI, Regione del Veneto, Province of Venice, Province of Trieste, Municipality of Venice, Municipality of Trieste, the Academy of Fine Arts of Venice and the Department of Architectural and Urban Design of the University of Trieste.