trieste contemporanea award

The “Trieste Contemporanea” Award, given to prominent figures in Central Eastern European culture in recognition of their added very remarkable contribution to the development of exchanges and mutual knowledge of the different European cultures, was awarded to Gisela May, extraordinary singer in Bertolt Brecht’s theatre (1996), Vytautas Landsbergis, musician, musicologist and President of the Lithuanian Parliament (1997), Zoran Kržišnik, art critic and founder of the Ljubljana International Biennial of Graphics (1998) and Miklós Jancsó, great Hungarian film director (1999).