20 october 2021

basics design 2021: faq

What is Trieste Contemporanea International Design Contest?
The competition is open to all designers born in CEI member states (Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Serbia, Slovenia and Ukraine) in compliance with its purposes. The 2021 edition of the contest has been extended to designers born in Austria, Estonia, Germany, Kosovo*, Latvia, Lithuania and Turkey as well. Any groups competing should consist exclusively of members born in the countries listed above. Any groups wishing to participate should fill out the application form with the name of the group leader and list the names, countries and dates of birth of the other group members. (*This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence)

What do I have to propose to participate in Trieste Contemporanea International Design Contest?
You are asked to conceive an original and innovative item of contemporary design taking into account sustainable development objectives.
While reflecting on new meanings and purposes, which also objects and tools take when addressing sustainable goals or facing contingencies (e.g. as it occurs during an unprecedented outbreak), propose and design a basic object fit for serviceable use you consider iconic of the process of change underway. Read the 2021 call

Can I participate with a project that I have already published online?
NO, the project must be unpublished.

How do I participate in the Trieste Contemporanea International Design Contest?
To participate you have to fill the online form that you find here

Can I participate with my group?
Yes, you can participate with a group of designers. Each member of the group must have been born in the aforementioned countries.

I was not born in one of the foreseen countries but I have the citizenship of one of the above-mentioned countries. Can I take part in the contest?
Unfortunately not! The “Trieste Contemporanea International Design Competition” is strictly dedicated to designers born in these countries and not people who reside permanently in these countries.

What is the registration fee?
The competition does not include any registration fees.

What are the documents I have to send to participate?
the requested material are:

– candidate’s CV;
– a copy of the Identification Document of the single candidate/group leader;
– the project of the design object conceived for the competition (which should be unpublished), containing all the information required for its production;
– an account describing the rationale behind the conception of the new design object created.

How should I send the material to participate in Trieste Contemporanea International Design Contest?
Registration must be completed online at:
Applications that are incomplete or submitted to the organising committee by any means other than the online system will not be accepted.

What is the format of the file that I can send and what is the maximum weight allowed? 
JPG format, max 3MB for the image or illustrative documentation of the source of inspiration.
For any technical  problems, write to

What document do I have to attach to the application to certify my country of birth?
Identity card (valid) in JPG format.

When does participation in the call expire?
The competition ends: 27 February 2022 by 11.59pm (Italian time).

What are the prizes?

– BEBA PRIZE 2021, for the youngest designer individually participating, among those selected: € 1000.
– CEI PRIZE 2021, for the best design from one of the non-EU CEI countries: € 3000.
– GILLO DORFLES PRIZE / FIRST PRIZE TRIESTE CONTEMPORANEA 2021, for the best design 2021: € 4000.

How do I know if my project has been selected? 
The results of the competition will be available on the website They will also be announced by the organizers through the international media.

Who is the jury composed of?
The panel of judges consists of international experts and representatives from the Central European Initiative and Trieste Contemporanea.
The Trieste Contemporanea website will publish the names of the members of the jury 22 October 2021 and its decisions by March 2022.
The judges’ evaluations are unquestionable.